NRL confirms venues for round 3-9

NRL confirms venues for round 3-9

Here’s All You Need To Know

The impact of the covid-19 pandemic on various sectors of the global community cannot be underemphasised. While sectors such as health, economy, tourism, and transportation received overwhelming attention due to the direct impact of the pandemic on their activities, the effect of the pandemic on other sectors cannot be trivialised.

One of such industries is the sport sector which was brought to a heartbreaking halt suddenly. As several sporting events were cancelled, rescheduled or modified, the peak of the pandemic saw little to no activities in the sport sector.

Now, with the government getting a control on the spread of the pandemic, sporting events are coming back in Australia and Super League fans cannot but be excited with the announcement of venues for rounds 3-9. The season ended abruptly after the covid-19 pandemic halted the season after round 2. The ARLC has, however, confirmed the resumption of the season as venues for the next six rounds were announced on May 19, 2020.

After the decision to continue with the season was reached, six venues were approved and they are: Queensland Country Bank Stadium; Bankwest Stadium; Suncorp Stadium; Central Coast Stadium; Campbell Stadium and AAMI Park.

These six venues will be used until the completion of round 9, after which a review will take place. These stadiums were chosen primarily because of their capability to meet biosecurity protocols. Other reasons such as the shape of the fields and commercial reasons were also considered before settling on those six venues.

Andrew Abdo, the Acting NRL CEO supplied the reasoning for this decision when he stated that “The competition will start with a solid approach to venues. The venues to be used require quality infrastructure to meet the necessary security requirements.”

  • The CEO stated that that there has been an adoption of various necessary measures to ensure venues are in line with restrictions. Further in his statement, he said “we’ve chosen three consolidated venues for clubs in and around Sydney to ensure there are no doubleheaders at venues and in different parts of the region to meet the geographical challenges we face.”
  • Following this development, clubs have been allotted temporary homes in this manner: Eels; Bulldogs; Rabbitohs; Sharks; and Roosters were allotted the Bankwest Stadium, Parramatta, NSW. Tigers, Dragons, Panthers, and Raiders were given Campelltown Stadium, Campbelltown, NSW.
  • Knights, Warriors, and Sea Eagles were placed in Central Coast Stadium, Gosford, NSW. Broncos and Titans were in Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane, QLD while the Cowboys got Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville, QLD. The Storm were allotted AAMI Park, Melbourne, VIC.

Nothing can confirm the return of the league matches than the confirmation of venue and the preparation of the league to ensure that the games take place in environments that are safe for both the athletes and the spectators.

Plans were also put in place to ensure that people conform to covid-19 protocols and those that could not make it to the venues after buying tickets were offered refunds.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.